A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 Cost of Living
 Wages & Income
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
 America's Labor Market Information System
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkNovember 28, 2015
License Title: Well Contractor/Provisional Well Contractor

License Description: Well contractors construct or reconstruct wells; install, repair or maintain pumps, or plug wells. They set up and operate well drilling rigs to drill wells; assemble tools, extend stabilizing jackscrews to support rigs, bolt trusses to derricks and machine frames, and move levers and pedals to control machines that drill or punch well bore; and, lower casings into wells.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa 455B

Requirements for License:Well contractors are required to have two years of experience providing well services. In addition to a certification from the Department of Natural Resources, water well diggers are required to register as a contractor (see Appendix).

Provisional well contractors must sign a statement that:
1. There is a shortage of certified well contractors in the area where they intend to operate;
2. That they have one year of experience in well services performed under the direct supervision of a certified well contractor, and;
3. The applicant has successfully completed the examination.

A certified well contractor who employs the applicant must also sign the statement. By signing, the contractor agrees:
1. To be jointly liable for violation of the rules regarding well services performed by theprovisional well contractor and certified well contractor.
2. The violation is grounds for suspension or revocation of the certification of the provisional well contractor and certified well contractor.

Sixteen contact hours or 1.6 continuing education units are required for certification renewal.

Application: None
Duration: Two Years (Certificates expire on June 30 of every even-numbered year and must be renewed every two years.)
Renewal: $300
Exam: $50
Other: There is a $300 (maximum) certificate fee. The certificate is prorated twice up to the first renewal period.

When:A written examination is required and is offered at various locations throughout the state during the year. Specific information concerning dates and locations of tests can be obtained by contacting the License Bureau of the Department of Natural Resources. Rules for certification will change on July 1, 2004.
Where:various locations throughout the state

License Authority:
Operator Certification Licensing Bureau
Management Services Division
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
Wallace State Office Building
E 9th & Grand Ave
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5157250284

Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved