| Iowa Workforce Information Network||November 29, 2015|
|License Title: Veterinary Technician|
License Description: Veterinary technicians work under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian for any purpose except diagnosis, prescription, or surgery.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa 169, Chapter 8
Requirements for License:A veterinary technician does not need a certificate in Iowa. If a person chooses to be registered, two years of animal technology in an approved college is required. Applicants must also have attained passing scores for the National Veterinary Technician Examination (NVTE) and the Iowa Veterinary Technician Examination.
At least thirty hours of continuing education in courses approved by the Board of Veterinary Medicine shall be completed triennially for registration renewal.
Duration: Three years
Exam: $110 - NVTE (includes $10 administrative fee)
$25 - State
|When:||To be registered in Iowa, an applicant must take both the national board exam and an Iowa written exam, which includes a slide show. Exams are given once a year in June at the Wallace State Office Building in Des Moines.|
|Where:||Dept of Ag & Land StewardshipBoard of Veterinary MedicineWallace State Office BldgE. 9th & Grand Ave.Des Moines IA 50319|
Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine
Wallace State Office Building
E 9th & Grand Ave
Des Moines IA 50319