| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 23, 2014|
|License Title: Tractor-Trailer Truck Driver|
License Description: Tractor-trailer truck drivers drive gasoline or diesel-powered tractor-trailers, usually long distances, to transport and deliver products; drive trucks to a destination, applying knowledge of commercial driving regulations and skill in maneuvering vehicle in difficult situations; inspect truck for defects before and after trips and submit report indicating truck condition; maintain driver log according to the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) regulations; and, may assist workers in loading and unloading truck. They must also perform routine maintenance.
Anyone driving tractor-trailers, single unit trucks with a gross vehicle weight rating over 26,000 pounds, or anyone carrying a placardable quantity of hazardous materials must apply for licensure.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 321.1 (8 & 11); Iowa Administrative Code, 761-607; Federal Regulation 49 CFR 383, 390-399
Requirements for License:A Commercial Driver's License (CDL) is necessary to drive a truck or truck-tractor semi trailer in Iowa and the applicant for this license must be at least 18 years of age. The U.S. Department of Transportation establishes minimum medical qualifications for truck drivers who are engaged in interstate commerce. An interstate driver must be at least 21 years old and meet minimum medical requirements. They must pass a physical examination every two years. In addition, drivers must take a written examination on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations of the U.S. Department of Transportation.
Individual companies may have "years of experience" or other criteria. Most jobs require the applicant to pass a federal DOT physical every two years. Applicants over the age of 70 are eligible for a two-year license only.
There are no continuing education requirements for license renewal.
Application: $16 - Two Years; $40 - Five Years
Duration: Two years if age 70 or older; five years for all others above age 18
Renewal: $16 - Two Years; $40 - Five Years
Exam: None, other than vision screening
Other: Additional license fees for endorsements are as follows:
Passenger (knowledge & skills exam) $10 (one time fee)
Double/Triple Trailers (knowledge exam) $5 (one time fee)
Tank Vehicles (knowledge exam) $5 (one time fee)
Hazardous Materials (knowledge exam) $5 (initial & renewal fee)
Airbrakes (knowledge & skills exam) $10 (one time fee)
Airbrake Restriction Removal (knowledge & skills exam) $10 (one time fee)
|When:||An applicant must pass a written and vision examination and a driving test demonstrating ability to drive a tractor-trailer truck in order to qualify for the Commercial Drivers License (CDL). These tests are given at 18 driver's license stations around the state. The CDL driving and written tests are waived for new Iowa residents who possess a CDL from their former state.|
|Where:||These tests are given at 18 driver's license stations around the state.|
Office of Driver Services
Motor Vehicle Division
Iowa Department of Transportation
Iowa Motor Vehicle Division Building
6310 SE Convenience Blvd.
Ankeny IA 50021