| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 23, 2014|
|License Title: Taxi Driver|
License Description: Taxicab drivers drive cabs to transport passengers for a fee. They pick up passengers in response to radio- or telephone-relayed requests for service; collect fees recorded on taxi meter based on mileage or time factor and record transaction on a log; report by radio or telephone to dispatcher upon completion of a trip; and, perform such services as handling passenger luggage or picking up and delivering packages.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 321.1 (8)
Requirements for License:A chauffeur's license, Class D endorsement 3, is required from the state. In addition, most large cities require a taxicab driver to obtain a special operator's license issued by the local city government. City licenses are generally renewable each calendar year if the operator has a good driving record and has not been involved in any criminal activity.
Applicants over the age of 70 are eligible for a two-year license only. Licenses are renewed by passing an eye examination and paying the renewal fee.
There are no requirements for continuing education for taxi driver license renewal.
Application: $16 - Two Year; $40 - Five Year
Duration: Two years for those age 70 and over; five years for all others above age 18 (between issuance and expiration of the license).
Renewal: $16 - Two Year; $40 - Five Year
|When:||An applicant must pass a vision screening and a driving exam. The tests are given at any driver license examining station in Iowa.|
|Where:||The tests are given at any driver license examining station in Iowa.|
Office of Driver Services
Motor Vehicle Division
Iowa Department of Transportation
Iowa Motor Vehicle Division Building
6310 SE Convenience Blvd.
Ankeny IA 50021