| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 30, 2014|
|License Title: Speech Pathologist (See Also Audiologist)|
License Description: Speech pathologists apply principles, methods, and procedures for the measurement, testing, evaluation, prediction, consultation, counseling, instruction, habilitation, rehabilitation, or remediation related to the development and disorders of speech, fluency, voice, or language. They nonmedically evaluate, prevent, ameliorate, modify, or remediate such disorders and conditions in individuals or groups of individuals.
Speech and hearing are so closely related that a person must have some knowledge of both to be a success as a speech pathologist or an audiologist.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 147; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 299-300, 303-305
Requirements for License:An applicant must have a certificate of clinical competence issued by the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA) or; a master's degree or its equivalent from an accredited college with a major in speech pathology; not less than 300 hours of supervised clinical training by an accredited college or university; and, not less than nine months of full-time, supervised clinical experience (within one year) with a temporary license and pass the National Teacher examination. Temporary licenses can be obtained, but the licensee must be supervised by an Iowa licensed speech pathologist.
Applicants possessing a current Certificate of Clinical Competency (CCC) from ASHA may apply at any time.
Out-of-state applicants must apply and receive a license before practicing in Iowa.
Non-residents may apply for a temporary permit to practice in Iowa for a period not to exceed three months. Applicant must document a need for the permit and permit must be received before practicing in Iowa.
Thirty hours of continuing education are required biennially for a permanent license renewal.
Application: $100 - If licensed in another state and have CCC from ASHA
$100 - Temporary clinical permit
$ 50 - Temporary permit
Renewal: $ 80
Duration: Two years - Permanent license
One year - Temporary clinical license
Three months - Temporary permit
Exam: Arrangements made by applicant
|When:||After completing the supervised clinical experience, the applicant must take and pass the National Teachers Examination in Speech Pathology with a score of 600 or greater.|
|After completing the supervised clinical experience, the applicant must take and pass the National Teachers Examination in Speech Pathology with a score of 600 or greater.|
State Board of Speech Pathology & Audiology Exam
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319