A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkOctober 30, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Solid Waste Incinerator Operator

License Description: Solid waste incinerator operators control processes and equipment to destroy by incineration municipal, infectious/pathogenic, and certain construction/demolition wastes in permitted solid waste incinerators. They maintain and operate the incinerator and related ancillary equipment necessary for the proper functioning of the disposal system; maintain operation records including, but not limited to, tonnages accepted, tonnages diverted to alternate solid waste processes, and quantities of ash disposed via Special Waste Authorization; collect samples from the combustion process and read and interpret data from the various meters and gauges which monitor the equipment's operation; periodically and randomly inspect loads of incoming wastes; and, supervise subordinate persons in all of the above functions.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 455B

Requirements for License:An applicant must have completed a basic training course approved by the Department of Natural Resources. The required basic training course must be pre-approved and have at least 12 contact hours. At a minimum, the course will address the following:
1) Description of types of wastes
2) Incinerator design
3) Interpreting and using engineering plans
4) Incinerator operations
5) Environmental monitoring
6) Applicable laws and regulations
7) Permitting processes
8) Incinerator maintenance, and
9) Ash and residue disposal.

Prior on-the-job experience is not required.

Iowa will consider reciprocity concerning applicants from other states.

Ten contact hours of continuing education during a two-year period are required for certification renewal.

Fees:
Application: None
Duration: Two Years (certificates expire on June 30 of every even-numbered year)
Renewal: $24
Exam: $20
Other: There is a $32 (maximum) certificate fee. The certificate is prorated twice yearly up to the first renewal period.


Examination:
When:A written examination is required and is offered at various locations throughout the state during the year. Specific information concerning dates and locations of tests can be obtained by contacting the License Bureau of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources.
Where:Contact the License Bureau of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources.

License Authority:
Operator Certification Licensing Bureau
Management Services Division
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
Wallace State Office Building
E 9th & Grand Ave
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5152816581


 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved