| Iowa Workforce Information Network||December 1, 2015|
|License Title: Teaching License|
License Description: Performs all duties as required by Iowa teachers including demonstrating the following skills and dispositions: planning and delivering instruction, specific content specializations, student learning, diverse learners, classroom management, communication, assessment, reflective practices, collaboration, ethical conduct, and integrative technology.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 272
Requirements for License:An applicant seeking a teaching license must have a bachelor's degree and recommendation from an institution with a state-approved practitioner preparation program. Additional requirements for out-of-state applicants may be found on the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners website at http://www.boee.iowa.gov/
Renewal requirements vary for all teaching licenses and may be found on the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners website at http://www.boee.iowa.gov/.
Application: $85 for the license and $75 for the required background check.
Duration: Two years for the Initial Teaching License, and five years for the Standard or Master Educator Licenses.
Renewal: $85 plus a $1 fee for the renewal background check.
Exam: Applicants who completed their teacher preparation program and obtained a teaching license prior to January 1, 2013 are not required to complete additional examinations.
|When:||Iowa requires the completion of either two Praxis II tests or edTPA for program completion (or for licensure for out-of-state applicants) for candidates who complete their programs after January 1, 2013. Testing requirements may be found on the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners website at http://www.boee.iowa.gov/|
Iowa Board of Educational Examiners
Grimes State Office Building
400 E 14th St
Des Moines IA 50319