A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkDecember 17, 2014
gray
 
License Title: School Psychologist

License Description: School psychologists work with students, parents, teachers and administrators to resolve behavioral and learning problems of students in elementary and secondary schools. They assess a student's mental aptitude, emotional development, potential for gifted/talented classification, or possible interference of substance abuse. They evaluate the effectiveness of academic programs and work to improve management procedures and teaching strategies.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 272

Requirements for License:To serve as a school psychologist, an applicant must:
1) complete an approved program of graduate study in preparation for service as a school psychologist through one of the following options:
a.) a master's degree with sufficient graduate semester hours beyond a baccalaureate degree to total sixty, or,
b.) a specialist's degree of at least sixty graduate semester hours with or without completion of a terminal master's degree, or,
c.) a sixty-semester hour master's degree program that must include a practicum in a school setting designed to give the student an opportunity to develop an understanding of the role of psychology in the classroom through participation in classroom procedures in a supportive role.
2) complete an approved human relations component, and,
3) ensure that the program must include preparation that contributes to the education of the handicapped and the gifted and talented.

Six semester hours of continuing education are required every five years for license renewal.

Fees:
Application: $50
Duration: Five years
Renewal: $50
Background check: $42


Examination:
When:None.

License Authority:
State Board of Educational Examiners
Grimes State Office Building
400 E 14th St
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5152813611


 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved