| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 18, 2014|
|License Title: Radon Mitigation Specialist|
License Description: Persons in this profession evaluate radon or radon decay products test results to ensure validity of test; conduct and evaluate diagnostic tests necessary to design effective radon mitigation systems; and, design and install (or supervise the installation of) radon mitigation systems to reduce radon levels to below 4.0 pC/L.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa 136B; Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 641-44
Requirements for License:Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and have three years of relevant professional work experience (post-secondary education in a related field may be substituted on a year-for-year basis for two of the three years of experience). They must successfully complete a one-week radon measurement and radon mitigation course approved by the Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH).
Radon mitigation specialists are subject to annual inspection by IDPH. They must comply with a Department-approved worker protection plan and quality assurance/quality control (QA/QC) program.
At least six hours of Department of Public Health-approved courses or seminars on radon mitigation are required annually for recredentialing.
Application: $175 - Resident
$250 - Non-resident (Neither one is refundable)
Duration: One year
Renewal: $150 (or $40 for each radon mitigation system that costs greater than or equal to $200, whichever is greater)
|When:||Applicants must take and pass the Radon Contractors Proficiency Examination administered by the National Environmental Health Association. |
Applicants must submit a detailed QA/QC plan for performing radon mitigation installations, and a detailed worker protection plan to IDPH, prior to receiving a credential. The worker protection plan must include a list of radiation safety measures that will be used to protect all workers before and during radon mitigation.
Bureau of Radiological Health
321 East 12th St-Lucas Bldg
Des Moines IA 50309