A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkSeptember 16, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Radon Measurement Specialist

License Description: Workers in this profession perform radon or radon decay measurements in buildings, and provide professional advice on radon and radon decay measurements, radon entry routes, and health risk assessments. (Radon decay products are a result of the radon decay chain and are also radioactive.)

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa 136B; Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 641-43

Requirements for License:Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and have three years of relevant profess-ional work experience (post-secondary education in a related field may be substituted for professional experience). They must complete a radon measurement course approved by the Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) and pass the National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) or National Radon Safety Board (NRSB) radon measurement proficiency exam. A quality assurance/quality control plan for each device and the standard operating procedures used in performing radon measurements for each device must also be submitted to IDPH for approval, prior to certification.

Radon measurement specialists are subject to annual and follow-up inspections by the Department. Radon tests performed in any calendar month must be reported to the Department during the next month.

At least six hours of Department of Public Health-approved courses or seminars on radon testing or mitigation are required annually for recertification.

Fees:
Application: $25 - Resident
$100 - Non-resident
Duration: One year
Renewal: $250
Exam: $150
Other: $250 - Initial Certification (refundable if certification is not completed).
Course fees will vary depending upon location.


Examination:
When:Each applicant must pass either the National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) or National Radon Safety Board (NRSB) radon measurement exam (both approved by IDPH.) The course and exams are given at Des Moines Area Community College once a year and in various other locations and dates throughout the Midwest by the Midwest Universities Radon Consortium (MURC). The radon course and exam registration are provided by MURC. MURC can be contacted at 1-800-843-8636.
Where:The course and exams are given at Des Moines Area Community College once a year and in various other locations and dates throughout the Midwest by the Midwest Universities Radon Consortium (MURC). MURC can be contacted at 1-800-843-8636.

License Authority:
Bureau of Radiological Health

321 East 12th St-Lucas Bldg
Des Moines IA 50309
Phone: 5152810415
www.idph.state.ia.us/contact_us.asp

 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved