A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkOctober 23, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Radiographer-General/Limited Diagnostic Radiographer

License Description: General Diagnostic Radiographer: Applies x-rays to any part of a person's body, including special procedures, to diagnose injury or disease. This includes positioning the patient, processing the film and manipulating the x-ray equipment.

Limited Diagnostic Radiographer: Applies x-rays to not more than three body parts, usually chest and extremities and/or spine, to diagnose injury or disease. This includes positioning the patient, processing the film and manipulating the x-ray equipment.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa 641, Chapter 42

Requirements for License:In addition to being at least 18 years of age, the applicant must have a high school education or equivalent and the ability to perform necessary duties without constituting a hazard to the health or safety of patients, self, other health care workers or the general public.

Specifically, the applicant must complete an approved course by either the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology or the Iowa Department of Public Health. These courses are offered at various hospitals, colleges and universities in Iowa and around the country. The limited radiographers course lasts three to four months and is frequently an evening course with classes held one or two nights a week. The general radiographer course is a two-year, full-time program.

Twenty-four hours of continuing education are required biennially for the general diagnostic radiographers and twelve hours are required for the limited diagnostic radiographers.

Fees:
Application: $45
Duration: One year
Renewal: $35
Exam: $80 - General Radiographer
$85 - Limited Radiographer


Examination:
When:Upon completion of training, the technologist must pass an examination given by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT). The tests are given in centers in Coralville, Davenport, Sioux City, and West Des Moines in IA, Omaha, NE, Sioux Falls, SD, and various other sites. Application must be made through the ARRT for general technologists and through the Bureau of Radiological Health for limited technologists.
Where:The tests are given in centers in Coralville, Davenport, Sioux City, and West Des Moines in IA, Omaha, NE, Sioux Falls, SD, and various other sites.

License Authority:
Bureau of Radiological Health

321 East 12th St-Lucas Bldg
Des Moines IA 50309
Phone: 5152810415
www.idph.state.ia.us/contact_us.asp

 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved