A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkApril 20, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Private Investigator (Includes Polygraph Examiner)

License Description: Private investigators conduct private investigations for the purposes of: obtaining information on habits, conduct, movements, whereabouts, associations, transactions, reputations or character of individuals; examining the credibility of witnesses or other persons; obtaining information leading to the recovery of lost or stolen property; determining the cause of or responsibility for fires, accidents or injuries to property; and, locating missing persons. They write reports about investigations or findings for clients, report criminal information to police and testify in court. They may also administer lie detector tests by use of a polygraph machine (Polygraph Examiner licenses are now included within Private Investigator licenses.)

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 80A; Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 2

Requirements for License:A person wishing to become a licensed, independent private investigator must:
1) be at least 18 years of age and a citizen of the United States,
2) be of good moral character, have no convictions for an aggravated misdemeanor or a felony, and have never been convicted of assault resulting from domestic abuse,
3) not be an abuser of alcohol or controlled substance, nor have a history of mental illness, instability or a history of repeated acts of violence,4) submit pictures, fingerprints and license fee(s) along with a compl
eted application to the Commissioner of Public Safety,
5) pass a written examination,
6) be able to show proof of financial responsibility and must be approved for a $5,000 surety bond; this will be $10,000 if applying for more than one license under this Chapter.

For those wishing to work as an employee for an agency, only the first four requirements above apply. Licensed agencies must also submit an employee I.D. card application along with the items in number four. The agency purchases these applications ($10 each) from the Department of Public Safety prior to the employee completing it.

During the two-year period preceding the agency license expiration date, license holders and their employees must complete a minimum of twelve hours of acceptable continuing education courses.

Fees:
License: (Private Investigator, Security Guard, Bail Enforcement Agent):
$100 - each license
$30 - fingerprint fee for each license holder
Renewal: $100 for each two-year license. The Department of Public Safety is
responsible for sending out renewal notices (usually 30 days prior to
license expiration).
$30 - fingerprint fee for each license holder renewal
Exam: None
Other: Application - $10 - Identification Card fee (one card needed, no matter
how many license types; no expiration, to work for that particular agency
only)
$10 - Application Packet (in person)
$15 - Application Packet (by mail)



Examination:
When:Applicants must pass the Private Investigative Agency License Exam, which is given by the Department of Public Safety at the Wallace State Office Building once a month.
Where:Wallace State Office BuildingE. 9th & Grand AveDes Moines IA 50319

License Authority:
Private Investigative Licensing
Program Services Bureau
Iowa Department of Public Safety
Dept of Public Safety Building
215 E 7th St, 4th Floor
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5157256230


 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved