A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkOctober 30, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Podiatric Radiographer (Podiatry Assistant)

License Description: Take x-rays of the foot and ankle for diagnostic purposes to assist a doctor of podiatry.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 149; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 221-225

Requirements for License:Applicants must be at least 18 years of age, be a high school graduate or equivalent, and complete an approved program or course of study in theoretical consideration underlying radiation hygiene and podiatric radiological practices. Application for student status must be made to the Board of Podiatry Examiners prior to engaging in clinical training under a podiatrist.

Students must complete a radiographic clinical program sufficient to demonstrate proficiency to a podiatric sponsor with at least 50 total exposures with direct supervision from a podiatrist or certified person to take podiatric x-rays. The program or course of study shall include at least 20 working days of clinical training in a podiatric office or clinic.

A podiatry assistant who holds a permit to practice limited diagnostic radiography in extremities or foot by the Bureau of Environmental Health may apply for and be granted a certificate in podiatric radiography without meeting the training or examination requirements.

Out-of-state applicants who hold a current certificate in podiatric radiography issued by another state may be considered if they meet the Iowa requirements.

Two hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal.

Fees:
Application: $25
Duration: Two years
Renewal: $10
Exam: $10
Other: $25 - Application for student status (this status lasts for a twelve month period)


Examination:
When:Applicants must pass a written examination administered by the Iowa Department of Public Health with a score of 70 percent or better. The exam is at the discretion of the Board of Podiatry Examiners.
Passing
Criteria:
Applicants must pass a written examination administered by the Iowa Department of Public Health with a score of 70 percent or better.

License Authority:
Board of Podiatry Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5152814422
www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/

 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved