A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkSeptember 23, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Pharmacy Technician Registration

License Description: Pharmacy technicians help licensed pharmacists provide medication and other healthcare products to patients. Technicians usually perform routine tasks to help prepare prescribed medication for patients, such as counting tablets and labeling bottles. Technicians refer any questions regarding prescriptions, drug information, or health matters to a pharmacist.

Authorizing Statute: Iowa Code 155A.6

Requirements for License:In Iowa, a pharmacy technician must apply to the Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners for registration within 90 days of accepting employment. Applicants enrolled in a college-based pharmacy technician training program must register prior to beginning on-site practical experience.

There are no state or federal requirements for formal training or certification of pharmacy technicians. Most pharmacy technicians receive informal on-the-job training.

Formal pharmacy technician education programs require classroom and laboratory work in a variety of areas, including medical and pharmaceutical terminology, pharmaceutical calculations, pharmacy recordkeeping, pharmaceutical techniques, and pharmacy law and ethics. Technicians need strong mathematics, spelling and reading skills.

There are no continuing education requirements for renewal of pharmacy technician registration. However, pharmacy technicians who elect to complete and maintain national certification must complete 20 contact hours of pharmacy-related topics within the two-year certification period to become eligible for recertification. At least one contact hour must be in pharmacy law.

Fees:
Registration: $ 33 (New and Renewal)
Certification: $ 35 (National certification)
Recertification: $ 35 (National)
Exam: $120 (National certification exam)


Examination:
When:There is no exam requirement for pharmacy technician registration in Iowa.

The National Pharmacy Technician Certification exam is administered by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board. This exam and certification are voluntary.

License Authority:
Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners

400 SW 8th St Ste E
Des Moines IA 50309
Phone: 5152815944


 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved