| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 30, 2014|
|License Title: Pesticide Applicator, Private|
License Description: Private pesticide applicators apply "Restricted Use Pesticides" as the PRODUCER of an agricultural commodity, on lands owned or otherwise under the direct control of the individual. Individuals who apply pesticides for hire should refer to requirements for Pesticide Applicator, Commercial.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 206
Requirements for License:No formal education, training or supervised practice is required to become a certified private pesticide applicator. However, an applicant must study the "Private Pesticide Applicator Study Guide (publication PAT-1), available from Iowa State University Extension Service.
Additional testing is required if on-farm restricted-use grain fumigants are to be used. Study materials are available from the Iowa State University Extension Service. There is no additional fee once basic fee is paid. Additional training is necessary for those using restricted-use fumigants.
An individual may choose to renew a private applicator certification by attending two hours of continuing instruction approved by the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship (IDALS) for each of the three years certified OR completing the written exam at the end of the three years for renewal. Training year runs from April 16 through the following April 15 and are usually held November through March.
Application: $15 - 3 years
Renewal: $15 - 3 years
Exam: Exam required for initial certification.
Other: There may be a fee if attending training sessions
Wallace State Office Building
E 9th & Grand Ave
Des Moines IA 50319