| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 21, 2014|
|License Title: Optometrist|
License Description: Optometrists measure the visual power of the human eye; prescribe and adapt lenses, prisms and contact lenses; and, employ visual training or ocular exercise to aid, relieve or correct people's vision. They treat diseases of the eye by using topical pharmaceutical agents or oral medicines and by removing superficial foreign bodies from the human eye and adnexa.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 154; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapter 179-184
Requirements for License:To practice optometry in Iowa, a person must have a high school diploma and graduate from a school or college of optometry accredited by a regional or professional accreditation organization that is recognized or approved by the council on post-secondary accreditation of the U.S. Department of Education and approved by the Iowa Board of Optometry Examiners, and pass all parts of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) exam.
A licensee may change a license from diagnostically certified to therapeutically certified by taking 40 hours of didactic education and 60 hours of approved clinical training in the examination, diagnosis, and treatment of conditions of the human eye and adnexa and an additional 44 hours of education with an emphasis on treatment and management of glaucoma and the use of oral pharmaceutical agents for treatment and management of ocular disease from an accredited regional or professional institution.
A licensee who regularly examines, attends, counsels or treats children or adults in Iowa is required to complete at least two hours of training every five years related to the identification and reporting of child/dependent adult abuse. At the time of renewal, the licensee is required to document completion of the training requirements.
Applicants who hold licenses in other states must apply for an Iowa license before practicing their profession in Iowa.
Fifty hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal.
Application: $250 by exam
$250 by endorsement
Duration: Two years
Exam: Arranged by applicant
|When:||An applicant must arrange to take and pass all parts of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) examination prior to applying for licensure.|
Board of Optometry Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319