A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkDecember 20, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Occupational Therapy Assistant

License Description: An occupational therapist assistant helps licensed occupational therapists in providing rehabilitative services to patients suffering from mental, physical, emotional, or developmental impairments. They use the rehabilitative activities and exercises that are outlined in the treatment plan devised by the occupational therapist. They also record their observations with regard to the patient's progress for use by the occupational therapist.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 148B; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 205-210

Requirements for License:An applicant must complete an occupational therapist assistant program approved by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education of the American Occupational Therapy Association with two months of supervised field experience and pass an exam administered by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT).

Limited Permit: An applicant who has completed the educational and the experience requirements and is waiting to take the certification examination can apply for a limited permit to practice. The limited permit is valid until the date on which the results of the next qualifying examination are made public.

Foreign-trained: To become eligible to take the licensure exam, internationally-educated occupational therapist assistants must meet NBCOT eligibility requirements and undergo prescreening based on the status of their occupational therapy educational programs.

Fifteen hours of continuing education are required biennially for certificate renewal.

Fees:
Application: $100
Duration: Two years
Renewal: $50
Exam: Arranged by applicant


Examination:
When:Applicants must pass an examination administered by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board.

License Authority:
Board of Physical & Occupational Therapy Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5152814401
www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/

 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved