A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkNovember 1, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Occupational Therapist

License Description: Occupational therapists plan and direct educational, vocational, and recreational activities to help mentally, physically, or emotionally disabled patients become self-sufficient, maintain health, and prevent disability; evaluate the capacities and skills of patients; set goals and plan therapy programs; assist patients in performing activities of all kinds, ranging from using a computer to caring for daily needs, such as dressing, cooking, and eating. For those with permanent functional disabilities, therapists provide such adaptive equipment as wheelchairs, splints, and aids for eating and dressing. They also design or make special equipment needed at home or at work.

An important part of an occupational therapist's job is recording a patient's activities and progress. These records are essential for evaluating patients, billing, and reporting to physicians.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 148B; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 205-210

Requirements for License:An applicant must have a degree in occupational therapy from a licensed program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education of the American Occupational Therapy Association and six months of supervised field experience.

Thirty hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal.

Fees:
Application: $100
Duration: Two years
Renewal: $50
Exam: $250 - arranged by applicant (NBCOT)


Examination:
When:Applicants must make arrangements to take, and then successfully pass, the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) examination. New grads who have never held an occupational therapy license may apply for a Limited Permit which is valid for a period not to exceed six months, limited permit holders may practice under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist until he/she takes the national exam.

License Authority:
Board of Physical & Occupational Therapy Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5152814401
www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/

 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved