| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 18, 2014|
|License Title: Massage Therapist|
License Description: A massage therapist performs massage, myotherapy, massotherapy, body work, body work therapy, or therapeutic massage including hydrotherapy, superficial hot and cold applications, vibration and topical applications, or other therapy which involves manipulation of the muscle and connective tissue of the body, excluding osseous tissue, to treat the muscle tonus system for the purpose of enhancing health, providing muscle relaxation, increasing range of motion, reducing stress, relieving pain, or improving circulation.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 152C; Iowa Administrative Code, 645, Chapters 130-135
Requirements for License:An applicant must successfully complete a curriculum of massage education approved by the department at an approved school, including at least 500 hours of instructor-supervised in-classroom instruction. The school curriculum must include 100 hours of anatomy and physiology, basic first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), and 400 hours of other subjects relating directly to development of the skills, knowledge, and attitudes necessary to render competent professional massage therapy to the public.
Massage therapists from other states seeking a license to practice massage therapy in Iowa will be considered on an individual basis. Issuance of a reciprocal license to licensees of states with license requirements equal to or exceeding those of Iowa will be considered after the applicant provides an official statement from each state board of examiners in which the applicant is currently or formerly licensed. Information should include the status of the applicant's license, issue date, expiration date, any information regarding any pending or prior investigations or disciplinary action, and a statement outlining the licensure requirements. A certified copy of the scores from the appropriate professional examination must be sent to the Department, if applicable.
Twelve hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal. This extends two years from the anniversary date of the original license.
Application: $100 (issued by examination or endorsement)
Duration: Two years (from the anniversary date of the original license)
Exam: Arranged by applicant and paid to The National Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
|When:||The applicant must show proof of passing the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork. The department may consider applications that do not appear on their face to meet statutory or rule requirements on a case-by-case basis if the requirements may be alternatively satisfied by demonstrated equivalency.|
Board of Massage Therapy Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319