| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 22, 2014|
|License Title: Manure Applicator, Confinement|
License Description: Confinement manure applicators apply liquid or dry manure stored at a confinement feeding operation to the land, unless they are a small animal feeding operation. A small animal feeding operation is a site with less than 500 animal units. No fees are charged for the manure or the application of manure.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa 459B; Iowa Administrative Code 65
Requirements for License:To become certified an applicator must either pass a Department of Natural Resources (DNR) administered 50-question exam or take training every year for three consecutive years. The fourth year of training to start the three-year cycle over must be competed by March 1 of the fourth year. Family farm members may be exempt from certification fees if all the requirements are met.
Applicant must take training every year for three consecutive years and the fourth year of training must be completed by March 1, which will begin the three-year cycle over.
Application: $100 - Initial Certification
Duration: 3 years
Exam: $25 - Education fee charged for testing and training (includes videos) per 2003 legislation. Fee is open-ended and may fluctuate yearly. Fee is assessed when application/certification form is submitted.
|When:||Applicants must take a 50-question Multiple Choice/True or False exam and must score 35 out of 50 to pass.|
|Where:|| Exams are given at the DNR's six field offices|
Wallace State Office Building
E 9th & Grand Ave
Des Moines IA 50319