| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 23, 2014|
|License Title: Lawyer|
License Description: Lawyers conduct criminal and civil lawsuits, draft legal documents, advise clients as to legal rights, and practice other phases of law. They gather evidence in divorce, civil criminal, and other cases to formulate defense or to initiate legal action; represent clients in court and before quasi-judicial or administrative agencies of government; may act as trustee, guardian, conservator, or executor; may teach college courses in law; and, may specialize in a particular phase of law.
Authorizing Statute: Iowa Code 602.101 01; Supreme Court Rule 100
Requirements for License:An applicant for admission to practice law in Iowa must submit proof of graduation from a reputable law school fully accredited by the American Bar Association.
Attorneys may be admitted without examination provided they have practiced law at least five of the last seven years in another state and have met other requirements for admission. In such cases, there is an admission fee. An annual assessment of $25 to $100 is imposed upon all practicing lawyers to maintain Iowa's "client security" fund. Law students should file a Law Student Registration by November 1 of the year in which the person begins law school.
Lawyers are required to take fifteen hours of continuing legal education each year, including two hours of legal ethics for each two-year period.
Assessment: $200 - Applicants are exempt from payment for the first two years, then
must pay a prorated amount until this figure is met.
$15 - Continuing Legal Education (An annual fee)
Duration: One year - (Bar admission is continuous)
Renewal: $85 - Client Security Fund - An annual fee imposed upon all lawyers to
fund disciplinary system
Exam: $325 - To defray investigative and written exam costs
Other: $25 - Law Student Registration
$75 - If not filed timely
$575 - For out-of-state attorneys applying to practice in Iowa
|When:||Written examinations are given in February (apply by October 1) and July (apply by March 1) of each year in Des Moines or Iowa City. The Clerk of the Iowa Supreme Court should be contacted concerning specific locations and dates for the examination. A background investigation is conducted on all prospective lawyers and a fee is assessed to defray the cost of the investigation and the written examination. The Multi-State Professional Responsibility Examination must be taken before the bar exam is taken, and the applicant must receive a scaled score of at least 80. |
Admission without examination is possible provided the person has practiced law at least five of the last seven years in another state and has met other requirements for admission.
|Where:||Des Moines or Iowa City, Iowa|
Clerk of the Iowa Supreme Court
Board of Law Examiners
Iowa Supreme Court
1111 E Court Ave
Des Moines IA 50319