A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkApril 18, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Hearing Aid Dispenser

License Description: Hearing aid dealers fit and sell hearing amplification systems to individuals; test auditory system of hearing-impaired individuals, using test equipment and apply standardized evaluation procedures; receive individuals referred by physicians for fitting and purchasing of hearing amplification systems; make ear mold impressions as part of the fitting; and, interpret and evaluate auditory test results and confer with hearing-impaired individuals to demonstrate, select, fit, adapt and modify hearing amplification systems.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 154A; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 120-121

Requirements for License:Requirements for initial licensure: applicants must apply for a temporary permit before starting the required 12-month supervised training period under a licensed hearing aid dispenser. After training, the applicant shall complete the board approved application for Hearing Aid Dispensers, pay the application fee and pass the International Hearing Society Examination within one year after temporary license is issued, if applicable. Applicant must also take and pass an Iowa law exam. A temporary permit is available by completing appropriate section of the Hearing Aid Dispensers application form.

All others (i.e., out-of-state applicants) wishing to provide hearing aid services in Iowa must obtain a license before service begins. Applicants holding valid certificates or licenses in a state or jurisdiction that has requirements that are equivalent to or higher may be issued an Iowa license.

Thirty-two hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal.

Fees:
Application: $130
Duration: Two years
Renewal: $50
Exam: $95
Other: $35 - Temporary Permit


Examination:
When:Applicants must pass the International Hearing Society exam.

License Authority:
Board of Examiners of Hearing Aid Dispensers
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5152810254
www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/

 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved