| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 17, 2014|
|License Title: Funeral Director|
License Description: Funeral directors gather personal information, complete required documents, remove remains from the place of death, help conduct funeral services, direct the final disposition of the deceased, and provide for the needs of the survivors during the period of and immediately after the funeral. They may also be involved in the selling of caskets, urns, vaults, markers or other burial receptacles. They prepare bodies of the deceased by embalming or preserving, completing restorative work, applying cosmetics, dressing, and arranging bodies in casket in preparation for burial. Occasionally, they complete the paperwork for and supervise disinterment.
Funeral directors also handle the paper work involved with the person's death. They may help family members apply for veterans' burial benefits, notify the Social Security Administration of the death, apply on behalf of survivors for the transfer of any pensions, insurance policies, or annuities, and submit papers to state authorities so that a formal certificate of death may be issued and copies distributed to heirs.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 156; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 100-104
Requirements for License:An applicant must successfully complete: a minimum of 60 semester hours as indicated on the transcript in a regionally accredited college or university with a minimum of a 2.0 (or "C") grade point average; and a course in mortuary science from a school accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education. The 60 semester hours shall not include any technical or vocational mortuary science courses. A one-year internship must be served under the supervision of a board-certified preceptor.
The applicant must submit a completed application, the appropriate fee, an official transcript of grades showing completion of training in a college of mortuary science approved by the Iowa State Board of Mortuary Science Examiners, and National Board scores.
Students enrolled in an accredited mortuary science school may apply for student practicum, which allows the student to work under supervision of a licensed funeral director who has a valid preceptor certificate.
A preceptor must be an Iowa-licensed funeral director for a minimum of five years and complete a preceptor training course.
Twenty-four hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal.
Duration: Two years
Other: $25 - Student Practicum
|When:||A written exam covering the rules and laws of the state of Iowa is administered prior to the applicant beginning the one-year internship. There is no additional fee for either exam or license.|
The Board of Mortuary Science Examiners shall accept a certificate of examination issued by the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards indicating a passing score for this examination.
All applicants must successfully pass the Iowa State Law examination with a score of 75 percent or greater.
Board of Mortuary Science Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319