| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 19, 2014|
|License Title: First Responder|
License Description: A first responder uses stabilizing techniques on patients prior to the arrival of an ambulance.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa 147A
Requirements for License:A first responder applicant must be at least 17 years of age, proficient in reading, writing, and speaking English, and must have successfully completed a course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). He/she must complete a minimum of 50 classroom hours, complete clinical hours as required by the training program, and successfully complete a state written and practical exam.
Twelve hours of continuing education are required biennially for certification renewal as well as having a current CPR course completion card.
Duration: Two years
Exam: $20 - National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians
$20 - Iowa Department of Public Health
|When:||Applicants must pass a written and practical examination approved by the state.|
Bureau of Emergency Medical Services
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319