| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 16, 2014|
|License Title: Esthetician|
License Description: Estheticians can beautify, massage, cleanse or stimulate a persons skin (except the scalp) by use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions or creams or any device, electrical or otherwise, for the care of the skin. They also might apply make-up or eyelashes to a person, tint the eyelashes or eyebrows, lighten hair on the body (except the scalp), or remove excess hair from the body using depilatories, waxes, or tweezers and eyebrow threading.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 157; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 59-65
Requirements for License: Licensure as an esthetician requires taking 600 hours of training, consisting of at least 150 hours of core life sciences, 115 hours of esthetics theory, and 335 hours of applied practical instruction from an approved school.
An applicant must successfully pass the required exams and pay the application fee.
A licensed cosmetologist may obtain a license in esthetics by taking 600 hours in esthetics through a board approved school and pass the required examination. 150 hours of the cosmetology core curriculum may transfer to this practice discipline.
Estheticians from other states are reviewed on an individual basis.
Eight hours of continuing education are required biennially, of which four hours shall be in the prescribed practice discipline for license renewal. Two hours must be in Iowa law.
Duration: Two years
Exam: $55 - National Written Theory Exam
|When:||To arrange a testing time, candidates eligible for testing may contact:|
3210 E. Tropicana
Attn: Iowa COS
Las Vegas, NV 89121
Board of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319