| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 15, 2014|
|License Title: Doctor Of Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.)|
License Description: Doctors of osteopathic medicine diagnose, prescribe for, and treat diseases of the human body, relying upon accepted medical and surgical procedures. They examine patients to determine symptoms attributable to impairments in musculoskeletal system; correct disorders and affections of bones, muscles, nerves, and other body systems by medicinal and surgical procedures and, manipulative therapy when deemed beneficial; and, employ x-rays, drugs, and other aids to diagnose and treat bodily impairments. They may practice any of the known medical and surgical specialties.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapters 147, 148, 150-150A
Requirements for License:An applicant must be a graduate of an approved college of osteopathic medicine and surgery and have completed one year of post-graduate training in an approved hospital in the U.S. or Canada. If a physician is a foreign medical graduate, he or she must have a current Educational Commission Foreign Medical Graduate (ECFMG) certificate. Each applicant must also have a passing score on a medical licensing examination: United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) Steps 1-3, National Board, Federal Licensing Examination (FLEX), Licentiate of Medical Council of Canada (LMCC), Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Exam (COMLEX), or a state structured qualifying exam.
Forty hours of category 1 continuing education are required biennially for license renewal. A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to children (emergency physicians, family practitioners, general practice, pediatricians, and psychiatrists) must complete two hours of training in child abuse identification and reporting every five years. A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to adults (emergency physicians, family practitioners, general practice, internists, obstetricians, gynecologists, and psychiatrists) must complete two hours of training in dependent adult abuse identification and reporting every five years. For those providing primary care to children and adults, a combined two-hour course is acceptable.
Permanent License via paper (2 Year): $550
Online Permanent License (2 Year): $450
|When:||Each applicant must have a passing score on a medical licensing examination (USMLE Steps 1-3, National Board, FLEX, LMCC, COMLEX, or a state structured qualifying exam).|
Iowa Board of Medical Examiners
400 SW 8th St Ste C
Des Moines IA 50319