| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 20, 2014|
|License Title: Doctor Of Medicine (M.D.)|
License Description: Doctors of medicine perform medical examinations, diagnose illnesses, and treat people who are suffering from injury or disease. They examine patients utilizing diagnostic aids such as: stethoscope, sphygmomanometer, thermometer, and other instruments; elicit and record information about patient's medical history; order or execute various tests, analyses and x-rays to provide information on patient's condition; analyze reports and findings of tests and examination, and diagnose condition; administer or prescribe treatments and medications; promote health by advising patients concerning diet, hygiene, and methods for prevention of disease; perform surgical procedures commensurate with surgical competency; and, may practice any of the known medical and surgical specialties.
Individuals who qualify for medical licensure in Iowa may practice medicine and surgery, call themselves "Doctor," and use the letters "MD" or "DO" after their name.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapters 148.1, 150.2, and 150A.1: Iowa Administrative Code 653
Requirements for License:Applicants must graduate from an approved college of medicine and surgery or an approved college of osteopathic medicine and surgery and must complete one year of post-graduate training in an approved hospital-affiliated program in the U.S. or Canada. If medical education occurred at a foreign medical school, the applicant must possess a current Educational Council Foreign Medical Graduate (ECFMG) certificate and pass one of the approved licensing examinations.
Forty hours of category 1 continuing medical education are required biennially for license renewal. A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to children (emergency physicians, family practitioners, general practice, pediatricians, and psychiatrists) must complete two hours of training in child abuse identification and reporting every five years. A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to adults (emergency physicians, family practitioners, general practice, internists, obstetricians, gynecologists, and psychiatrists) must complete two hours of training in dependent adult abuse identification and reporting every five years. For those providing primary care to children and adults, a combined two-hour course is acceptable.
Permanent License: $505
Resident License: $205
Special License: $355
Permanent License via paper (2 Year): $550
Online Permanent License (2 Year): $450
Resident Extension: $25
Special License (1 Year): $200
|When:||A graduate of a medical college who has never been licensed in another state must take and pass Steps 1-3 of the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE). Those who have been licensed in another state must meet the exam criteria in effect in Iowa at the time of the individual's original licensure in another state.|
Iowa Board of Medical Examiners
400 SW 8th St Ste C
Des Moines IA 50319