A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkJuly 28, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Dietitian

License Description: Dietitians evaluate the nutritional needs of individuals and groups, then advise and assist them on appropriate diets based upon principles from the sciences of nutrition, biochemistry, physiology, food management, and behavioral or social sciences. They confer with physicians and other health professionals to coordinate medical and nutritional needs. They must ensure that nutritional needs are consistent with available resources and constraints; establish goals and priorities; provide counseling in health and disease; and evaluate and change recommendations to continually provide the best standards of food quality and nutrition.

A dietitian may work in a hospital, clinic, public health program, extended care facility, university, business, government agency, or private practice. The major areas of practice are clinical, community, management, and consultant dietetics. Dietitians in nursing homes or small hospitals may also manage the food service department.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 152A; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 80-84

Requirements for License:A dietitian must have a baccalaureate degree with major course work of study in human nutrition, food and nutrition, nutrition education, dietetics, or food systems management or an equivalent major course of minimum academic requirements as established by the American Dietetic Association and approved by the board; complete a documented, supervised experience of no less than 900 hours under an approved licensed dietitian, a registered dietitian, or an individual with a doctoral degree with a major in nutrition; pass the National Registration Exam and be registered with the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR).

Applicants who have obtained their education outside the U.S. and its territories must have their academic degrees validated as equivalent by an accredited college or university.

Thirty hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal.

Fees:
Application: $100
Duration: Two years
Renewal: $100
Exam: Arranged by applicant, paid to the American Dietetic Association


Examination:
When:The registration exam is written and is given by the Commission on Dietetic Examination. Applicants make arrangements to take this test.

License Authority:
Board of Dietetic Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5152816959
www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/

 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved