A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkSeptember 2, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Dental Hygienist

License Description: Dental hygienists provide direct patient care under the supervision of a dentist. Patient care includes removal of deposits and stains from patients' teeth, exposing and developing dental x-ray films, performing various preventive, diagnostic, therapeutic and educational services.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa 153

Requirements for License: Application for licensure must be made to the Board of Dental Examiners on the form provided by the Board along with satisfactory evidence of graduation from an accredited school of dental hygiene and completion of the proper examinations (below).

Dental hygienists are required to make separate application for issuance of a local anesthesia permit prior to administering local anesthesia.

If applying for a license by credentials, the applicant must be a graduate of an accredited school, pass a clinical exam, and have three years experience as a dental hygienist. Application by credentials applies to those persons who are planning to move to Iowa, but who are currently practicing in another state.

Thirty hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal. Mandatory training for child abuse and dependent adult abuse reporting is required. Applicant must also have a current course completion card in CPR.

Fees:
Application: $50 by examination
$100 by credential
Duration: Two years
Renewal: $120 (Active or Inactive)
Exam: Paid to CRDTS or WREB
Other: Applications for license renewal must be made in writing to the Iowa Board
of Dental Examiners 30 days prior to the expiration of license, accompanied
by the appropriate fee. Renewals are issued for two years.



Examination:
When:Applicant must take the National Board administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations and the clinical examination of the Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS), 1725 Gage Blvd, Topeka, KS 66604 or the Western Regional Examining Board (WREB), 9201 N 25th Ave Ste 185, Phoenix, AZ 85021, if taken after Jan. 1, 2001, and a jurisprudence exam administered by the Iowa Board.

License Authority:
Iowa Board of Dental Examiners

400 SW 8th St Ste D
Des Moines IA 50309
Phone: 5152426369


 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved