| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 16, 2014|
|License Title: Cosmetology Instructor|
License Description: A cosmetology instructor works only in a licensed cosmetology school, instructing students in the skills required of any of the cosmetology practices.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 157; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 59-65
Requirements for License:An applicant must have a high school diploma or equivalent; be an Iowa licensed cosmetologist; complete 1,000 hours of Instructor training from an approved school of cosmetology arts and sciences or have practiced two years within the prior six years before applying for licensure; and, complete the Advanced Instructors Institute training.
To be an instructor in nail technology, esthetics, or manicuring, an applicant must be licensed in the practice discipline and complete 1,000 hours of training in his or her specific practice discipline. To be licensed as an instructor teaching courses in electrology, the applicant must have an additional 60 hours of practical application experience (excluding school hours) in the area of electrolysis.
Eight hours of continuing education are required biennially with an additional eight hours in teaching methodology for license renewal.
Application: $50 (Includes exam)
Duration: Two years
|When:||All applicants must successfully pass the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology Instructors examination and the Iowa Law exam. |
Testing is arranged by the exam service:Experior Assessment LLC 1260 Energy Lane St Paul MN 55108800-532-2218www.experioronline.com
|Where:||Testing is arranged by the exam service:Experior Assessment LLC 1260 Energy Lane St Paul MN 55108800-532-2218www.experioronline.com|
Board of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319