A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkAugust 20, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Cosmetologist

License Description: A cosmetologist shampoos, cuts, colors, singes, bleaches, curls, styles, chemically curls and straightens hair for men, women and children. They may work on wigs and hairpieces, use cosmetics on customers, massage customers' scalps, do manicures and pedicures, apply artificial nails, or do nail tips and extensions. Duties may include massaging, cleansing, stimulating, exercising, beautifying, or similar techniques upon the face, neck, arms, hands, or upper part of the body with the hands or mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances with other preparations. Cosmetologists might also sell hair care products or other beauty related items, answer the telephone, take appointments, schedule walk-in customers, operate cash register, and stock supplies.

See also Cosmetology Instructor, Electrologist, Esthetician, Manicurist, or Nail Technologist. Separate licensures are available for each.


Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 157; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 59-65

Requirements for License: Applicants must have a high school education or have passed the General Education Development (GED) test and complete 2,100 hours of training at least ten months in duration. The 2,100 hours of training includes 615 hours in cosmetology theory, 150 hours in core life sciences, and 1,335 hours of supervised practical instruction.

A licensed cosmetologist can do manicuring without additional training.

Out-of-state applicants must submit proof of passing the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology exam as well as the Iowa Law examination.

Eight hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal.

Fees:
Application: $50
Duration: Two years
Renewal: $50
Exam: $70 - Theory
$30 - Iowa Law
Other: $10 - Temporary Permit


Examination:
When:After completing the academic requirements, the person must pass the National Inter-state Council of State Boards of Cosmetology exam and the Iowa Law exam.

Testing is arranged by the exam service: Experior Assessment LLC1260 Energy LaneSt Paul MN 55108www.experioronline.com.
Where:Testing is arranged by the exam service: Experior Assessment LLC1260 Energy LaneSt Paul MN 55108800-532-2218www.experioronline.com

License Authority:
Board of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5152814416
www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/

 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved