| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 30, 2014|
|License Title: Chiropractor|
License Description: Chiropractors treat human ailments by adjusting the neuromusculoskeletal structures, primarily by hand or instrument, through spinal care. They may withdraw or order the withdrawal of a patient's blood for diagnostic purposes; perform or utilize routine laboratory tests; perform physical examinations; render nutritional advice; and, perform or utilize chiropractic physiotherapy procedures. They may chose to specialize in orthopedics, diagnostic, radiology, neurology, nutrition, sports medicine, sports injuries, or industrial injuries.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 151; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 40-46
Requirements for License:Chiropractic students may apply before or after graduation. A complete application, accompanied by a photo copy of the chiropractic diploma or a letter of graduation intent from a college registrar, must be submitted within 120 days of the exam date.
An applicant must have graduated from an Iowa-approved chiropractic college having status with the Council of Chiropractic Education (CCE), pass Part I, Part II, Part III, Part IV, and Physiotherapy of the National Board exam, and pass the Iowa Board of Chiropractic Examiners written exam.
A licensed chiropractor in another state must comply with all requirements for Iowa licensure.
Sixty hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal.
Application: $100 - Basic application
Duration: Two years
Exam: $225 - licensure by exam or endorsement
|When:||Applicants must pass Parts I, II, III, IV, and Physiotherapy of the National Board exam and a written exam given by the Iowa Board of Chiropractic Examiners.|
Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319