| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 1, 2014|
|License Title: Certified Shorthand Reporter (Csr)|
License Description: Certified shorthand reporters maintain a complete record of judicial proceedings. This includes reporting by machine shorthand all spoken communication during the proceedings and maintenance of exhibits and witness lists. It requires the ability to provide a verbatim transcript of the proceedings, which is accomplished by typing, dictation, or the most modern method of using computer-aided transcription (CAT) wherein the original computer writing of the court reporter is translated into English by use of computers and dedicated software. This method requires advanced skills by the court reporter and provides instant written translation of spoken words for hearing-impaired citizens. Reporters may work as freelancers in pretrial discovery work, or as official reporters hired by the State and other entities. Due to the nature of the job, accuracy and speed are vital with emphasis on grammar, English, spelling, and various technical terminologies including legal and medical.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 602.3101- 602.3302; Iowa Supreme Court Rules
Requirements for License:To sit for an exam, an applicant must have a high school diploma or its equivalent, have attained proficiency of 200 words per minute or more in a shorthand reporting course; or had at least two years of experience as a shorthand reporter in making verbatim records of judicial or related proceedings; or graduated from a shorthand reporting school approved by the National Court Reporters Association.
Iowa does not honor licenses from other states. However, an individual who holds the designation of Registered Professional Reporter from the National Shorthand Reporters Association by passing said association's examination on or after May 1, 1973, and who is in good standing with the association may, upon application to the Iowa Board of Examiners, become certified in Iowa upon successfully passing a written examination.
Applicants must obtain at least three continuing education units (CEUs) within a three-year period by attending or participating in seminars, workshops or courses integrally relating to the field of shorthand reporting and which contribute directly to the professional competency of the shorthand reporter. One hour of continuing education credit equals .1 continuing education unit.
Duration: One year
Other: $25 - Late filing penalty
$50 - Extension Request
A certificate must be renewed annually by completing continuing education requirements, filing an annual continuing education report by September 1 of each year, and paying a $10 annual renewal fee.
|When:||The exam is given on the second Saturday in March and September at the American Institute of Business in Des Moines. It consists of both a written and practical exam.|
|Where:||AIB College of Business2500 Fleur DrDes Moines IA 50321|
Iowa Board of Examiners of Shorthand Reporters
1111 E Court Ave
Des Moines IA 50319