| Iowa Workforce Information Network||September 22, 2014|
|License Title: Bus Driver|
License Description: Bus drivers transport passengers over specified routes to local or distant points according to a time schedule; collect cash fares and make change, collect and issue tokens, tickets, and transfers; regulate heating, lighting and ventilating systems for passenger comfort; comply with local traffic regulations; report delays or accidents; record cash receipts and ticket fares; may load or unload baggage from baggage compartment or freight checked by passengers; may have to check tires, oil, water, and fuel and make minor repairs; answer questions about schedules, routes and transfer points; and, announce stops and other information concerning trips.
Authorizing Statute: Code of IA 321.1 (8 & 11), IAC 761-607; Fed Motor Carrier Safety Reg 49 CFR 390-399 & 383
Requirements for License:Applicants must be at least 18 years of age to qualify for a Commercial Driver's License (CDL) to drive either a passenger or a school bus. There are no particular education requirements to obtain licensure. Drivers must now meet minimum medical requirements, be certified medically fit every two years, and successfully pass the written, driving, and vision exams.
Applicants over age 70 are eligible for a two-year license only. Persons renewing an Iowa chauffeur's license will have to comply with federal regulations of CDL. Individual companies may have "years of experience" or other criteria.
All persons driving buses that carry 16 or more passengers must apply for a license.
School bus drivers must meet eligibility standards as established by the Iowa Department of Education.
There are no continuing education requirements for license renewal.
Duration: Two (age 70 and older), or five years (age 18 through 69)
Renewal: $16 - Two Years; $40 - Five Years
Other: Additional fees for endorsements are as follows:
- Passenger (knowledge & skills exam) $10 (one time fee)
- Air brakes (knowledge & skills exam) $10 (one time fee)
|When:||Licensing applicants must pass written, driving, and vision exams. The written and vision tests are given at any driver license examining station in Iowa. CDL Driving Skills tests are given at 18 DOT locations around the state and at some county treasurer's offices.|
|Where:||CDL Driving Skills tests are given at 18 DOT locations around the state and at some county treasurer's offices.|
Office of Driver Services
Motor Vehicle Division
Iowa Department of Transportation
Iowa Motor Vehicle Division Building
6310 SE Convenience Blvd.
Ankeny IA 50021