A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkDecember 18, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Barber Practitioner

License Description: A barber provides customers with barbering services: shampooing, cutting, blow- waving, trimming, singeing, hair body processing, arranging, bleaching or coloring the hair, hair relaxing, drying, applying hair tonics and tapering hair, using clippers, combs, dryers, and scissors. Barbers apply hairdressings or lotions, lather and shave beards, or shape hair contour on temple and neck using razor. They dye, singe, shampoo, or style hair; massage or apply cosmetic preparations to the face, neck, or scalp; fit and sell hair replacements; sell lotions, tonics, or other cosmetic supplies; and, record charge on ticket.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 158; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 20-26

Requirements for License:In Iowa, the applicant must be at least 16 years of age, have a tenth grade education, graduate from a board-approved barber school, and pass a national written and practical exam. A person who completes the requirements for licensure except for examination shall be known as a trainee and shall be issued a temporary permit to allow the applicant to practice barbering until passage of the examinations. The temporary permit of an applicant who does not pass the second examination shall be revoked.

All other out-of-state applicants must meet Iowa's license requirements and have a valid license for at least 12 months in the preceding two years prior to applying. No temporary permits are available for out-of-state applicants.

Eight hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal.

Fees:
Application: $100
Duration: Two years
Renewal: $50
Exam: $50
Other: $100 - licensure by reciprocity
$10 - Temporary permit




Examination:
When:Applicants are required to pass the national and Iowa Rules and Law written examination and a practical exam. The exam is given four times a year in Des Moines, Iowa on either the last Monday or Tuesday of January, April, July, and October, subject to change.
Where:The exam is given four times a year in Des Moines, Iowa on either the last Monday or Tuesday of January, April, July, and October, subject to change.

License Authority:
Board of Barber Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5152816959
www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/

 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved