A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 Cost of Living
 Wages & Income
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
 America's Labor Market Information System
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkOctober 9, 2015
License Title: Barber Manager/Instructor

License Description: Barber instructors teach the responsibilities of barbering (cutting, chemically treating and styling hair, shaving, trimming beards and mustaches, etc.) to students. They ensure that barber students meet the minimum educational requirements and also teach the proper sanitation techniques for care of the equipment and individuals.

Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 158; Iowa Administrative Code 645, 20-26

Requirements for License:Applicant must be a licensed barber for two consecutive years, graduate of an accredited high school or equivalent, complete a board-approved, 16-hour teaching course, and successfully pass the Iowa instructor examination.

Barber instructors must have a current barber license which requires eight hours of continuing education. However, no additional continuing education is required for renewal of the instructors license.

Application: $100
Duration: Two years
Renewal: $50
Exam: $50

When:Examinations are given by the Iowa Board of Barber Examiners four times per year near the end of every quarter, subject to change.

License Authority:
Board of Barber Examiners
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5152816959

Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved