A Service of the Iowa Workforce DevleopmentSite IndexGlossaryOccupational Information Center
IWINOccupational Information Center
 *
 Home
 Search
 
 
*
 Business
 Careers
 Cost of Living
 Education
 Industry
 IowaTrends
 Jobs
 Population
 Publications
 Regions
 Unemployment
 Wages & Income
 Youth
 *
 
TOOLS*
  Employer Database*
  Current Employment*
  QCEW*
  Local Employment Dynamics for Iowa (LED)*
  Occupational Information*
  On the Map*
  DashBoard*
  Unemployment Rates*
  Write IWIN*
  contacts*
 *
 America's Labor Market Information System
*
 Iowa Workforce Information NetworkOctober 31, 2014
gray
 
License Title: Asbestos Inspector

License Description: Asbestos inspectors must be able to identify asbestos; know the locations and uses of asbestos in buildings; and recognize the physical appearance of asbestos. They must understand the health effects related to asbestos exposure, the synergistic effect between cigarette smoke and asbestos exposure, the latency period, legal liabilities and defenses, comprehensive general liability policies, and how claims are made.

Inspectors work with an accredited asbestos management planner; conduct inspections; inventory asbestos-containing material (ACM), make physical assessment of its condition; understand the safe inspection of electrical, heating, ventilation and air-conditioning systems (HVAC) systems; read blueprints and as-built drawings; conduct bulk sampling; and, maintain records of both buildings and inspections.


Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 88Band 875; Iowa Administrative Code Chapter 155

Requirements for License:An applicant must have successfully completed the proper training and exam given by a course provider approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Persons seeking a license as an asbestos inspector must complete an initial three-day training course and an annual one-half day refresher thereafter. The three-day training course includes lectures, demonstrations, at least four hours of hands-on-training, individual respirator fit test, course review and written examinations.

Applicants must submit a completed application from the Division of Labor Services, a non-refundable fee, a copy of the training certificate, and two 1"x1" photographs. Applicants must be at least 18 years of age.

A four-hour refresher course is required annually for license renewal.

Fees:
Application: $20 (non-refundable)
Duration: License is valid until their training certificate expires.
Renewal: $20 (non-refundable)


Examination:
When:Applicants must pass a written examination after completing the training.

License Authority:
Asbestos Abatement Licensing
Labor Services Division
Iowa Workforce Development

1000 E Grand Ave
Des Moines IA 50319
Phone: 5152816175


 
Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development ©Copyright - All Rights Reserved