| Iowa Workforce Information Network||December 20, 2014|
|License Title: Asbestos Abatement Worker|
License Description: Asbestos abatement workers use hand-operated or power-operated tools to remove or encapsulate asbestos-containing materials; wear protective clothing and use a respirator to prevent exposure to airborne asbestos fibers; follow all safety regulations regarding work practices, such as work site preparation, decontamination, and waste disposal; and, use encapsulating materials in an appropriate manner. They need to understand the nature of asbestos-related diseases, routes of exposure, and synergism between cigarette smoking and asbestos exposure. Workers construct and maintain proper barriers and decontamination enclosure systems; position warning signs. They must follow proper working techniques for minimizing fiber release through the use of wet methods, negative pressure ventilation equipment, high efficiency particulate air (HEPA) vacuums, and proper clean-up and disposal procedures.
Authorizing Statute: Code of Iowa, Chapter 88B and 875; Iowa Administrative Code Chapter 155
Requirements for License:An applicant must have successfully completed the proper training and exam by a training provider approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The initial worker training course includes lectures, demonstrations, at least six hours of hands-on-training, respirator fit test, course review and written examinations. Persons seeking this license must complete an initial five-day training course and an annual refresher course thereafter.
A completed application form from the Division of Labor Services must be submitted containing a physician's certification and a respirator fit test. Applicants must submit with the form, the non-refundable fee, a copy of their training certificate, and two 1"x1" photographs. Applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
An eight-hour refresher course is required annually for license renewal.
Application: $20 (non-refundable)
Duration: All licenses are valid until their training certificate expires.
Renewal: $20 (non-refundable)
|When:||Applicants must pass a written examination after completing the training.|
Asbestos Abatement Licensing
Labor Services Division
Iowa Workforce Development
1000 E Grand Ave
Des Moines IA 50319